A Thousand Years in Thy Sight


Compact disc

SKU: HAVPCD240 Category:


The Choir of Guildford Cathedral

Geoffrey Morgan (Organ)

The sequence of music on this recording represents sacred choral compositions across Western Europe spanning the past thousand years. It celebrates the development and rich diversity of musical style and language over the centuries. No attempt has been made to cover every corner of a vast repertoire – an impossible task in an hour of music.

However, each century is covered by at least one composition, with geographical as well as stylistic variety. Perhaps this collection also speaks of a widening vision of musical repertoire in our English cathedrals.The Choir of Guildford Cathedral was formed in 1961 under Barry Rose, the Cathedral’s first Organist and Choirmaster.

Track Title Composer
1 Sequence: Victimæ Paschali Plainsong
2 Song of the Ass Orientis Partibus French, 12th century
3 Domino fidelium School of Notre Dame
4 Alle psallite Anonymous, 13th century
5 Gloria Gratiosus de Padua
6 O lux beata Trinitas Guillaume Dufay
7 Ave Maria Robert Parsons
8 This is the record of John Orlando Gibbons
9 Salve Regina Pietro Cavalli
10 Behaold the Lamb of God G.F. Handel
11 Gloria from Missa Sancti Nicolai F.J. Haydn
12 Kyrie eleison Felix Mendelssohn
13 O salutaris hostia Gioacchino Rossini
14 How lovely are thy dwellings Johannes Brahms
15 Glorious and powerful God C.V. Stanford
16 Timor et tremor Francis Poulenc
17 Come, Holy Ghost Jonathan Harvey
18 Millennium Hymn (Helvellyn) Andrew Millington