Dancing Day (John Rutter) – Christmas music from Exeter


Compact Disc

SKU: HAVPCD279 Categories: , , ,


Exeter Cathedral Choir

Christmas is a special time at cathedrals and at Exeter many thousands of people attend concerts and services over the festive period. Before Christmas, in addition to the daily services, the choir presents a concert of seasonal music, including one or more extended pieces.
John Rutter’s Dancing Day, scored for harp and upper voices, is one such work, and it forms the centre-piece of this disc. Other pieces include well-loved hymn-carols and compositions by familiar names on the choral scene.

Track Title Composer
1 The Office of Grandisson for Christmas Eve Armstrong
2 There is no rose Robert Millington
3 Joys seven English trad arr. Cleobury
4 O little town of Bethlehem, directed by Stephen Tanner arr. Vaughan Williams
5 Away in a manger, directed by Stephen Tanner Kirkpatrick/Trad, arr. Tanner
6 Midwinter, directed by Stephen Tanner Bob Chilcott
7 Dancing Day with Jean Price (Harp) – 1. Prelude John Rutter
8 2. Angelus ad virginem John Rutter
9 3. A virgin most pure John Rutter
10 4. Personent hodie John Rutter
11 5. Interlude John Rutter
12 6. There is no rose John Rutter
13 7. Coventry Carol John Rutter
14 8. Tomorrow shall be my dancing day John Rutter
15 Sans Day Carol Cornish trad, arr. Rutter
16 No small wonder Paul Edwards
17 Once in royal David’s city Gauntlett/Mann
18 Eastern monarchs Andrew Millington
19 A child is born, directed by Stephen Tanner Malcolm Archer
20 Coventry Carol, directed by Stephen Tanner Kenneth Leighton
21 Ding dong! merrily on high, directed by Stephen Tanner French tune, arr. Tanner