Dom Sebastian Wolff: Cantata for a New Era


Compact disc

SKU: HAVPCD270 Categories: ,


Cambridge Voices, Jeremy Filsell (organ), Martin Muncaster (Narrator)

The Cantata is Father Sebastian Wolff’s most recent choral work and it marks the Millennium celebrations of the year 2000. Concerned with the extensive plans for country-wide secular celebrations, Father Sebastian became interested in creating something which reflected the true significance of the Millennium year.
The text of the Cantata thus focuses on the prophecy, birth, and fulfilment of Christ in a succession of movements for soloists, chorus, organ, and narrator.

1 Introduction: In the beginning
2 Chorus: Let us make man in our image
3 The Fall: Organ introduction
4 Reading: The serpent was more subtle
5 Loss of trust returned to dust
6 Reading: So the Lord God expelled Adam
7 Hymn: Thou whose almighty Word
8 Recitative: The people who walked in darkness
9 Aria: Arise, shine! Your light is come
10 Recitative: A virgin is with child
11 Reading: That day the Lord will start his threshing
12 Chorus: How beautiful on the mountains
13 In the days of King Herod of Jud?a
14 An angel of the Lord
15 Chorus: He will be great in the sight of the Lord
16 Duo: Listen to the voice
17 Chorale: Hush! the world is still and waiting
18 Reading: Now at this time
19 Solo and Chorus: Shepherds guarding their flocks
20 Reading: Now when the angels had gone
21 Final Chorus: Rejoice, rejoice, let all men rejoice