I Look From a Far – A Sequence For Christmas.


Compact disc

SKU: HAVPCD255 Categories: , ,


Portsmouth Cathedral Choir

Christmas seems to start long before the liturgists and musicians have begun to think about services on Advent Sunday. When we finally get to the celebration of Christ’s birthday, we may find ourselves tired and jaded by it all – our real celebration of Christmas is quickly over – we turn our minds to the New Year, driven by the world’s agenda.
Hence this disc: it tries to recapture some of that music that may easily be lost in our rush to get Christmas over and done with. So, although we open with a traditional Advent text, we focus on the music of the Christmas season itself, and illustrate its movement through to the Baptism of Christ and Candlemas.

  1. Organ: In Dulci Jubilo ’ – D.Buxtehude
  2. I Look From Afar ’ – M. Walsh
  3. Adam Lay Y-bounden’ – R. Walker
  4. New Year Carol ’ – B. Britten
  5. People, Look East ’ – P.Trepte
  6. Variations On ‘Es Ist Ein Ros’ Entsprungen’ ’ – A Drishner
  7. Organ: In Dulci Jubilo ’ – J.S.Bach
  8. O Little Town Of Bethlehem ’ – W. Davies
  9. A Maiden Most Gentle ’ – A. Carter
  10. As I Walked Down ’ – M Head
  11. Variations On ‘Adeste Fideles’ – M Dupre
  12. Silent Night ’ – Arr. G Gwynn
  13. I Saw Three Ships’ – P Ledger
  14. God So Loved The World ’ – B. Chilcott
  15. Organ: La Nativité’ – J. Langlais
  16. Echo Carol ’ – D. Price
  17. Joys Seven ’ – G.Williams