Music for Clarinet and Piano


Compact Disc

SKU: HAVPCD152 Categories: , Tag:


David McArthur (Piano) and Nicholas Carpenter (Clarinet)

A collection of 20th-century works for clarinet and piano, which demonstrate the varied range and characteristic qualities of this most expressive woodwind instrument.

Nicholas Carpenter, a prize-winning student at the Royal College of Music, became principal clarinettist of the Bournemouth Sinfonietta on leaving the College – the youngest holder of that position in any British orchestra.

David McArthur, who was a distinguished student at the Royal Scottish Academy of Music in Glasgow, undertook post-graduate studies at the Guildhall School of Music in London and developed his career as a soloist and accompanist. Together, they have performed duo recitals widely in Britain and overseas.

Track Title Composer
1 Fantasy Sonata in one movement John Ireland
2 Phantasy Suite Op. 91 Thomas Dunhill
3 Five Bagatelles Op. 23 Gerald Finzi
4 Sonatina Malcolm Arnold
5 Three pieces for Clarinet and Piano. John McCabe
6 Jazz Song Mike Henry