Organ Music from St Georges Chapel, Windsor Castle


Compact disc

SKU: HAVPCD204 Categories: ,


The Queen’s Free Chapel of Saint George within Her Castle at Windsor possesses a fine organ, built in 1965 to a design by the organist of the time, Dr Sidney Campbell. His excellent scheme was realised by the organ builders, Harrison and Harrison or Durham, with their legendary craftsmanship.

This programme is designed to illustrate the ingenuity of the designer and the skill of the builders by presenting three short recitals of favourite German, English and French organ music.

1 Toccata and Fugue in D minor, BWV 565 Johann Sebastian Bach
2 Es ist ein Ros’ entsprungen, Op. post. 122 No. 8 Johannes Brahms
3 Sketch in D flat, Op. 58 No. 4 Robert Schumann
4 War March of Priests (from Athalie) Felix Mendelssohn
5 Fanfare (No. 4 of Four Extemporisations) Percy Whitlock
6 A Fancy Sir William Harris
7 Prelude (No. 1 of Four Short Pieces) Sir William Harris
8 Spring Song Alfred Hollins
9 Marche Héroique Sir Herbert Brewer
10 Sortie in E flat L. J. A. Lefebure-Wely
11 Impromptu (Pieces de fantasie Book 3, Op. 54) Louis Vierne
12 Suite Gothique – 1. Introduction – Choral Leon Boellmann
13 2. Menuet gothique Leon Boellmann
14 3. Priere  Notre-Dame Leon Boellmann
15 4. Toccata Leon Boellmann
16 Scherzo (No. 8) Eugene Gigout
17 Toccata (Cinquieme Symphonie, Op. 42 No. 1) Charles- Marie Widor